The Republican Party will hold its fifth concealed weapons class at Capital City Bank in Port St. Joe on April 20.


The Republican Party will hold its fifth concealed weapons class at Capital City Bank in Port St. Joe on April 20.



The bi-annual class is led by Frankie Mills, a National Rifle Association certified instructor.



“This class gives qualified adults the security to take care of their families,” said Mills, a retired Sheriff of Okaloosa County.



Designed to take place in a “comfortable setting,” the class strives to be informative and ensure that students understand all proper rules and regulations that come with the permit.



Questions may be asked as they arise and are encouraged so that Mills can ensure the competency of his students.



Mills “re-exposes students to the basics” to ensure proper handling and respect of all weapons and limits the class to handgun usage.



Those planning to attend who do not own a gun will have one provided for them and Mills hopes that his class will assist non-owners in making sound firearm purchases based on their own needs.



Additional info covered in the five-hour class will include where not to take concealed weapons, the Florida Stand Your Ground law, and all appropriate state statutes of which students will need to be aware.



The State of Florida has issued the most concealed weapon permits in the country with 1,025,654 permits as of February 2013.



Gulf County has issued 696 of those permits which are valid for seven years in Florida and will allow the holder to carry their weapon in 35 states.



“You may never need it,” said Mills, “But you’ll be glad you have it.”



In order to obtain a concealed weapons license in Florida you must be at least 21 years of age, be a U.S. citizen, eligible to purchase and able to demonstrate competency with a firearm, and have never been convicted of a felony, misdemeanor violence, domestic violence, substance or alcohol abuse, juvenile offense or have a history of mental illness.



The class will take place from 9:30 a.m. until 2 p.m. ET. A fee of $75 is required. To register, call Tom Semmes at 639-5345. Applications must be received by April 16.