Port St. Joe commissioners approved the timeline for the city’s next round of elections this spring.

Port St. Joe commissioners approved the timeline for the city’s next round of elections this spring.

Election Day will be Tuesday, May 14 and the registration books are now open at the Supervisor of Elections Office at 401 Long Avenue in Port St. Joe.

All registered voters are encouraged to ensure their voter registration information is correct and new residents of the county need to register no later than 5 p.m. ET on Monday, April 15, when the registration books close.

Candidate qualifying begins at noon Wednesday, March 27 and continue for one week until noon Wednesday, April 3.

Three seats will be contested this year, Mayor/Commissioner held by Mel Magidson, Group I held by Commissioner Bill Kennedy and Group II currently held by Commissioner Bo Patterson.

Early voting will begin May 4, 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. ET, each day through May 11, except Sunday, May 5, when there will be no voting.

On both Saturdays, May 4 and May 11, early voting will be held during those hours.

All early voting will take place at the Supervisor of Elections Office.

Absentee ballots may be requested now and will be mailed once they are received from the printer.

Polls will open on Election Day at 7 a.m. ET and will close on 7 p.m. ET.


Mexico Beach Mayor Al Cathey was re-elected to another term when he drew no challengers during candidate qualifying which ended last week in Bay County.

The Bay County Super Tuesday for all municipal elections is April 16.

Lanny Howell, the incumbent in Group 2 on the Mexico Beach City Council, will face a challenge from Jeff Tendler and Mary Blackburn will challenge incumbent Jack Mullen for the Group 3 seat.

The registration books close March 18 and voters are urged to ensure they have registered and all information on their voting registration is correct.

Early voting will begin April 8 and continue through April 12, the hours each day 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. CT.

Election Day polling hours are 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. CT.