Candidates set for PSJ election

PSJ Candidates

The candidates for the May 14 election for the Port St. Joe City Commission completed qualifying last week and handed in paperwork to Supervisor of Elections John Hanlon.

Wes Locher
Published: Thursday, April 11, 2013 at 09:01 AM.

Candidate qualifying for next month’s Port St. Joe municipal elections ended last week with one seat set and two others contested.

Mel Magidson earned his fourth term as Mayor/Commissioner when no challengers qualified to run against him.

As for the Group II seat, incumbent Bo Patterson will face a challenge from political newcomers Eddie Fields.

The Group I seat, which Commissioner Bill Kennedy is vacating after one term, will be contested by David Ashbrook and William Thursbay, both making their first foray into the political arena.

The voter registration book for the May 14 election closes at 5 p.m. ET on April 15. This is for new voter registration or party changes, though party affiliation has no bearing on this city-wide election.

The last day to request an absentee ballot is 5 p.m. ET on May 8.

Early voting will begin May 4 and continue through May 11 at the Supervisor of Elections Office on Long Avenue in Port St. Joe.

1 2

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top