Local election slate set

Published: Thursday, June 26, 2014 at 09:07 AM.

On the Republican side, Tom Semmes, who ousted Traylor in the primary four years ago before losing to McDaniel in the general election, will face Vicki Adkison Armstrong in the primary.

The winner will join McDaniel and Traylor on the general election ballot.

In addition to the commission seats, three school board seats were in play this year but only one drew multiple candidates.

Sitting school board members Danny Little (District 1) and John Wright (District 5) drew no opposition and automatically secured new four-year terms.

With George Cox retiring from the District 2 seat, James Taunton and Brooke Wooten will face off in the primary to decide who occupies the seat the next four year as school board races are non-partisan by law.

The registration book for the primary closes at 5 p.m. ET July 28.

Voters new to the county or those who have changed addresses or party affiliation have until that date to make changes to the voter registration.

1 2 3

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top