Patterson reelected; Thursbay wins PSJ Group I

Published: Tuesday, May 14, 2013 at 07:43 PM.

Bo Patterson and William Thursbay each noted the work that went into Tuesday’s Port St. Joe municipal election.

For the two, the effort paid off.

Patterson easily won a second two-year term as the Group II commissioner with a win over political newcomer Eddie Fields.

Thursbay, also making his first foray into the political arena, beat fellow newcomer David Ashbrook to win the Group I seat being vacated by first-term Commissioner Bill Kennedy.

Results are unofficial until the canvassing board meets Wednesday. There were three provisional ballots to be counted, though they will not impact either race.

Supervisor of Elections John Hanlon predicted a turnout of 32-33 percent. By poll closing, 35 percent of the city’s registered voters had cast ballots.

Patterson saw a lead built by early voting and absentee ballots hold up after the precinct count; Thursbay came from 27 votes down with precinct numbers.

1 2 3

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top