School enrollment continues slide

Published: Thursday, October 31, 2013 at 10:02 AM.

Ralph Roberson, current chair of the GCSC District Board of Trustees will be joined by Dr. Jim Anderson, vice president of the college foundation, in throwing out the first ball and assisting with the pre-game coin toss.

At halftime, Port St. Joe Jr./Sr. High School will induct the newest class into its Athletics Hall of Fame.

Inductees include Howard Browning; Frank Hannon; Lamar Faison; Norris D. Langston; Robert Nedley; Frank Fletcher; Billy Johnson; Dr. Oliver Harper; and Charles Smith.

Browning is the long-time broadcaster of Tiger Shark football; Hannon coached the first state championship team; Faison a coach and teacher at the school for 50 yards; Langston was an all-around athlete for whom an educational foundation is named; Nedley, Fletcher, Johnson, Harper and Smith all played in the first game at Shark Field and will also be honored for contributions to the school, community and society.

A reception will be held beneath the stadium beginning at 6:30 p.m.

1 2 3

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top