Teacher of the Year candidates named

Published: Wednesday, November 27, 2013 at 10:02 AM.

The employees of the year are similarly identified by co-workers and administrators at each school and district site.

The candidates for District Employee of the Year, also known as non-instructional personnel, at each school site are: Jewell Hopper at Port St. Joe Elementary; Karen Taylor at Port St. Joe Jr./Sr. High School; Mary Ann Peak at Wewahitchka Elementary; and Julie Carr at Wewahitchka Jr./Sr. High School.

Also recognized and in the running for district honors are:  Susie White at the district office and Mary Lou “Cookie” White with maintenance/transportation.

“In January these most deserving recipients will vie for district honors,” said Superintendent of Schools Jim Norton. “We also thank the volunteer committee from across the district that helped re-vamp these programs as well as all those who provided suggestions regarding the process.”

Each school-based Teacher of the Year received $500; each employee of the year candidate received $100.

The District Teacher of the Year will receive $1,000 and the District Employee of the Year $200.

The Rookie Teacher of the Year will be recognized with a plaque in April.

1 2 3 4

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top