Port St. Joe, Franklin County dominate district soccer teams

Published: Thursday, February 21, 2013 at 11:29 AM.

Port St. Joe and Franklin County, the top two programs this season in District 1-1A, fielded the most athletes on the all-district soccer teams released this week.

For the Tiger Sharks, Marcel Duarte, the school’s all-time leading scorer while just a sophomore, was selected to the first team along with junior midfielder Drew Lacour, senior defenders Javarri Beachum and Witt Shoaf and senior midfielder Daniel Jones.

Tucker Smith, a senior goalkeeper, was named honorable mention and was joined by fellow Tiger Shark Caleb Odum, a junior forward.

For the Lady Tiger Sharks, midfielder Hayley Wood, defender Brittney Shoemaker and midfielder/goalkeeper Christian Laine – all juniors, were named to the first team all-district.

Freshman forward Kathleen Rish, the team’s top goal scorer on the season, was named to the honorable mention team.

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top