The Davida Byrd Scholarship Foundation, Inc., recently held its annual awards ceremony, sponsored by the Ministerial Alliancee and Philadelphia Primitive Baptist Church.

Deacon Taylor Jenkins is the president and founder of the foundation and Christine White coordinated the event.

The 2017 scholarship winners were Amontae Daniels, Maliyah McNair, Jakari Sims, Tyrek Sims and Joy Spires.

The scholarship was established in memory of Davida Byrd, a 1995 graduate of Port St. Joe High School, by Deacon Taylor Jenkins. Deacon Jenkins took it upon himself along with a few others to initiate a fund to help young high school graduates further their education.

Every year sincve 1996 scholarships have been offered to each and every senior that followed the guidelines set forth by the committee. In a few instances students have been awarded monies for two-year degrees and trade/technology schools as well.