Port St. Joe Commissioner David Ashbrook was re-elected without opposition as candidate qualifying closed last week for the municipal elections.

In receiving no opposition, Ashbrook is automatically re-elected to another two-year term in the Group 2 seat.

The rest of the ballot is set for the May 14 election.

Mayor Bo Patterson, seeking his third term as mayor and fifth on the Commission, will face two challengers.

Rex Buzzett left the Commission two years ago after 10 years and will attempt to return to board while Christy McElroy is seeking her first elected seat.

Commissioner Eric Langston will face a challenge from Cassie Studstill, also seeking her first elected office.

The Port St. Joe elections are non-partisan and community-wide: all voters may cast votes for every race.

The registration book for the city election closes April 15.

No new voter registrations are accepted after that date.

As FEMA has been using the Port St. Joe Fire Station as a Disaster Recovery Center, all early and general election voting will take place at the Supervisor of Elections Office at 401 Long Ave.

Early voting will be 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. ET May 4-11 (no Sunday voting).

On election day, voting will be 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. ET.

 

Special election

The city election is just one of the two that are creating a busy April for Supervisor of Elections John Hanlon and his staff.

The Republican primary in the special election to fill the vacant District 7 seat in the Florida House of Representatives is also April 9.

The primary ballot includes Port St. Joe’s Jason Shoaf, Lynda Bell, Virginia Fuller and Mike Watkins.

The winner of the Republican primary will face Democrat Ryan Terrell in the general election June 18.

Hanlon is deploying the “super center” approach used for the November elections following Hurricane Michael.

There are two voting stations, Hanlon’s office at 401 Long Ave. in Port St. Joe and the Wewahitchka Public Library.

Early voting began last Saturday will continues through Sunday.

On weekdays, early voting will be held 7:30 a.m. until 6 p.m. ET (6:30 a.m. until 5 p.m. CT).

On Saturday, hours will be 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. ET (7 a.m. until 4 p.m. CT) and on Sunday 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. ET (8 a.m. until 4 p.m. CT).

On April 9, voting will be held 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. ET; 6 a.m. until 6 p.m. CT.

 

.