A Gulf County presence on the board of Triumph Gulf Coast, Inc. will continue until at least June 2021.

Matt Terry of Port St. Joe was appointed by Florida Senate President Bill Galvano to replace Jason Shoaf on the Triumph board.

Terry is the owner of Appraisal Group of North Florida, LLC and has also served on several county boards, including the Planning and Development Review Board, the Port St. Joe Port Authority and the Economic Development Council.

“It’s been a privilege to serve on the PDRB and EDC and Port Authority,” said Terry, who must give up those positions in joining the Triumph board.

“I look forward to working with (local governments). We need some good jobs. Hopefully we will have some industry come back here, industry compatible with the tourist industry that brings good jobs.”

Terry will succeed Shoaf, who left the Triumph board this summer after earning the Florida House District 7 seat in a special election.

Shoaf, a Republican, succeeded Halsey Beshears who left to lead the Department of Business and Professional Regulation.

As Shoaf was an appointment of the Senate President Joe Negron, his successor Galvano was in line to name the new board member.

“Matt Terry is a lifelong resident of the Florida Panhandle with deep roots in Gulf County,” Galvano said.

“As a business owner and community leader, he will be an excellent addition to the Triumph Board of Directors, and a strong advocate for our great legacy communities across the Panhandle as they work to overcome the lasting impacts of the Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill as well as the devastation caused last fall by Hurricane Michael.”

The seat Terry is assuming was created by the Florida Legislature in 2017 to expand the representation of the Triumph board into the private sector of smaller counties deemed disproportionately impacted by the Deepwater Horizon spill.

Those counties are Gulf, Franklin, Bay, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Escambia, Walton and Wakulla.

The board was expanded from five to seven members, with the two new members to be appointed by leaders of the two chambers of the Florida Legislature.

Triumph was charged by the Florida Legislature in 2013 with disbursing roughly 75 percent of the BP fine dollars paid to the state, roughly $1.5 billion.

Local governments have received several grants.

The county, cities and school district received grants to mitigate property tax shortfalls due to Hurricane Michael and the school district has received grant funding for several programs, including a drone course in the high schools and welding at Wewahitchka Jr./Sr. High School.

Terry’s term will expire June 29, 2021.